M09d7985558ade272994d354ca7dbbec35
mobile
 
博客 支持 关于我们 联系我们

Shands HealthCare使用了美国力登的数据中心基础设施管理(DCIM)dcTrack®解决方案之后,节省了50%的资产跟踪方面的投资

首屈一指的医疗服务提供商 Shands HealthCare,充分利用DCIM (数据中心基础架构管理),以全面了解其数据中心的资源:并使用这些信息来提高性能和容量规划以做出更好的决策。Shands HealthCare在佛罗里达州  Gainesville 数据中心营运部的经理,Joseph Keena 指出 :「有了dcTrack DCIM软件,我们现在拥有可显示所有的数据中心在电源、容量、网络和制冷方面画面的最新信息, 因此,我们能更准确地追踪数据中心的容量和未来基础设施的需求。」

提供优质病人护理和服务,Shands 的数据中心支持超过200个应用,从在大多数企业中常见的:如电子邮件,入口网站,后台应用,人力资源和财务 - 以及在实验室、急诊室、医院楼层,门诊和放射科,以及遍布每一个角落的Shands 医疗保健网络的支持工作应用。Shands 最重要的应用是它的医院信息系统,被称为EPIC可支持所有照顾病患的护理人员。 EPIC是一个大量数据的整合。每天EPIC会搜集所有的Shands 内的护理站信息、医疗记录,以及每一个工作指令,如实验室工作的数据。这些信息收集的结果导致 Shands 最近达到数据储存PB级大关,医疗保健提供者预期在未来18个月将再增添一倍的储存量。

「有了dcTrack DCIM软件,我们现在拥有所有数据中心在电源、容量、网络和制冷方面的最新信息」”
Joseph Keena
Shands Healthcare 数据中心营运经理

Shands 的数据中心已从一个地点增加到四个地点。两个作为灾难恢复,一个作为第二层储存。主数据中心有120个机架设备,两台500 kVA的UPS (不断电系统 )和一台大型计算机。服务器机架位于最先进的3000平方英尺的空间内,配备的Vmware包含 20台实体服务器和185个的虚拟主机  , 帮助Shands节省大量空间。

除了更好地利用宝贵的数据中心空间,Shands 也一直在寻找更好的管理和使用它的其他资源,如设备,电源及制冷。Shands选择了Raritan的dcTrack解决方案,因为它可以跨多个数据中心维护准确的、最新视图和每个设备的每个细节,以及它们的终端到终端的连接。它可追踪服务器,设备,以及网络和设施组件,并显示设备的详细信息,以及高架地板空间和机架高度。dcTrac不但精准提供资产管理,同时根据电源容量、制冷和数据网络的可用性,提供独特的数据中心容量实时画面。

 
Raritan与 Joseph Keena,Shands数据中心营运部经理 ,一同了解更多关于他的团队如何使用DCIM优化数据中心资源的管理。
 什么事促使 Shands 需要一个DCIM解决方案?

我们的数据中心不断增加有一段时间了,以这样的增长趋势我们需要一个更好的方法来追踪数据中心已存在的设备及它们之间连结的方式。我们已经做了所有该做的事情,那就是:你开始与纸追踪IT资产,然后你去把库存数据写在每行的最后,再使用电子表格尽量维持一切。我们已做了所有的努力去维持追踪所有设备的位置以及空间和容量的现况。

除了设法在不断变化的环境中追踪资产,我们不断受困于电源、空间和制冷之间,就像任何其他的数据中心一样,解决了这三个问题之一,却导致另一个或其他项目出现容量不够的问题。所以,我们知道,一个DCIM解决方案将是必要的,以便我们有机会跟上容量的规划和增长,并且追踪数据中心的所有的资产和任何变化,自然而然,我们需要投资一个DCIM解决方案的时间点到了。

那么,你为什么要选择Raritan的dcTrack ?

实际上,我们经历了一个全面性的RFP过程,并通过这过程,我们把范围缩小到四个不同的供货商。选择Raritan的其中一个原因是,该公司每个人都愿意投入到我们的DCIM的项目当中,作为我们真正的合作伙伴。Raritan公司在数据中心行业深耕已久 , 所以他们的专业度与知识都具有一定的水平。 dcTrack拥有所有关键要素;资产、容量和移动管理,并与Raritan的能源和电源理解决方案(Power IQ )无缝工作,包括所有的关键DCIM领域;我们为所有的机架添置了dcTrack的虚拟应用。

请您跟我们分享您如何着手实施dcTrack?

我们分阶段执行。第一阶段的重点是我们找到的所有设备和服务器位置,而第二个阶段是让我们发现所有连接的组成── 无论是KVM ,铜缆,光纤或电源连接。

一开始,Raritan的培训人员在现场培训我们实际操作dcTrack产品,让我们受益匪浅。接受培训后,我们的执行团队花了几个星期来制定有关我们下一步将如何执行的标准和实施过程。讨论的项目比如我们应该怎么做实物盘点。 dcTrack适合我们建立自己的一套程序,因为它不受套件的限制是非常灵活的,即使dcTrack配备全方位的设备管理库,您也可以轻松地添加自己的对象。建立标准和流程后, dcTrack虚拟设备的实际部署非常简单且很容易使用上手,让负责服务器的团队应对自如。

在现有的数据中心实施DCIM是否有困难 ?

明显地因为我们是全天侯24/7的设备,不可能为了实施此项目停止原有正常的工作,所以我们将工作进行分解。我们从小工作站开始并使用三个步骤做资产清查,我们派人到数据中心楼层并做前期库存清点。他们会走出去并说:「好,这台服务器、这个品牌和型号、名称,以及机架位置及U 等等」,第二个人把这些实际信息输入dcTrack内 ,然后第三人拿dcTrack所产出的报告说: 「请去验证这个信息跟现在实际机架信息是否一致。」以上检核盘点的这道程序已被证明是我们成功的关键所在。

一旦一个机架或小工作站完成以上程序,若以后此位置要进行放入或移出的动作,都必须先通过dcTrack 才能实际去执行。如果有更改,添加或移动, dcTrack的自动发现引擎自动更新库存数据库。这就减少了手工方式输入数据以确保信息的准确性。

所有的数据中心位置的实际库存盘点完成之后,我们进入第二个阶段,重点是连接 ──所有的KVM 、铜线连接,以及电源连接与光纤的连接。

第三阶段,我们是与我们的网络基础设施团队合作,在数据中心外成立一个在线电信机房测试房。因此,我们针对团队核心成员提供现场培训,我们协助模拟他们的电信机房之一,并使用dcTrack 测试所有经过该房间内的进出入连接。

在第四阶段,我们将启动SNMP对数据中心电源使用率信息搜集和报告。Shands 计划使用dcTrack 追踪用电以计算数据中心的PUE (电源使用效率)。 dcTrack利用Power IQ采集单个数据中心设备的电源和环境实时数据,去发现未使用的容量。

dcTrack如何帮助 Shands HealthCare 追踪其 IT资产?

在我们部署dcTrack以前,我们必须要真正去数据中心楼层一趟,确认一个服务器的实际位置与记录数据是否相符合。现在,我们只要打开dcTrack 屏幕上的资产信息,并查看服务器X、是否位于此机架或此U,或看到它不再是一台实体服务器,而是一个虚拟服务器。精确的资产记录使我们在定位数据中心内相关资产的实际位置时增加50 %的效率。

据我所知,你曾要求在dcTrack上添加新的功能?

在早期,我们已明确需要将我们的服务需求程序与DCIM解决方案整合。因此,我们向Raritan的研发人员寻求帮助。Raritan来并写了一个Web服务API ,它不只可以与我们的LANDesk兼容也可和其他服务需求系统一起运行。

「选择Raritan的其中一个原因是,该公司每个人都愿意投入到我们的DCIM的项目当中,作为我们真正的合作伙伴。」
Joseph Keena
数据中心营运Shands 医疗经理
您如何进行整合的过程?

我们现在有一个无缝的工作流程 - 从卷标制作到数据中心部署。服务台接收到请求然后将其放进dcTrack 。基于空间,电源和网络连接信息, dcTrack的搜索功能有助于选择一个最佳位置用于放置服务器。 dcTrack带领我们完成整个过程的每一步,以满足新的服务器请求。一旦有 IT设备交付给我们,我们再去做实际机架、连接,标记,然后 再回来关闭在dcTrack的请求,它会通知LANDesk该设备已经准备就绪。这个流程使我们更容易进行增加和移动,并提高我们的资产清查的准确性。

你提到另一个功能要求。

我们曾问过Raritan的另一大改进要求是,能在不同的媒体做终端到终端连接的追踪,因为这对我们的网络团队很重要。

现代数据中心的传输方法演变至今,从铜线到光纤在大多数数据中心都有。因此,从铜切换开始回到光纤,再穿过接线板到核心路由器的的追踪能力是很重要的,dcTrack 2.6正拥有这样的功能。

dcTrack的智能连接管理功能,使我们能够更有效地管理网络和电源连接;透明化的终端到终端连接可以发现和使用尚未使用的容量, 降低资源和营运支出。

在团队中,谁是dcTrack的使用者以及他们通常如何使用它?

整个数据中心的团队都使用dcTrack 。我用它作为一个监控工具来检查我们在项目的不同阶段的进展。所以,我设置自己为一个守门员,这意味着我可以进去查看现况以及每个请求的进行进度等等。

dcTrack的工作流程和变更管理功能支持我们维护日常的移动,增加和异动。

我预测会经常使用到 dcTrack的「搜索容量,保留和放置的工具」,用在容量规划和更多保留,尤其是保留的功能,它可以密切监控容量,这样我们就可以在dcTrack把资源预留空位,只要有人认为他们的项目有希望就能为自己搜索和预定空间,非常有利于潜在项目的时间预留。

在医疗行业是否有要求 IT资产追踪的任何规定?

一些监管机构也想知道应用所在之处。所以用dcTrack配合应用到实体或虚拟服务器,对我们来说第五阶段也是往前迈进的关键。有了 dcTrack ,我们将能够在需要的时候提供更快的响应,提供代理机构希望了解的所有信息及物理环境安全。

您看到和dcTrack合作后的结果是?

我们为了许多目标正在努力,其中最大的目标是我们正在着力于PUE计算,亦即功率利用效率。 dcTrack 提供实时服务器或应用程序电源消耗的记录功能,一定对此会有重大帮助。

我们可利用dcTrack容量规划和报告了解何时达到容量满载而未雨绸缪提早规划,比如服务器或存储团队可随时注意自己的容量情况。拥有快速又及时的电源,空间和冷却的容量画面,我们能定期提供给管理阶层说明,我们目前的情形跟有可能的未来趋势。

「一开始,Raritan的培训人员在现场培训我们实际操作dcTrack 产品,让我们受益匪浅。。」
约瑟夫·基纳
 Shands Healthcar数据中心营运经理

dcTrack优化服务器的移动,增加和异动的管理,它可清晰的提供服务器与其相关基础设施的确切位置。

dcTrack 拥有电源链和数据网络链的实体信息与连接的功能,可协助我们排除故障,预防问题发生与缩短维修时间;能够掌握所有的IT设备所支持的特定应用具有相当价值,我们可以检查过去发生的事件是否有相同之处,如连接问题或某些应用程序不能正常工作的所有的连接和记录,可期待的是往后若发生任何事件,我们能从实际角度往正确的方向寻找可能原因。

您还有其他想法要分享的吗?

我们很重视与我们的供货商合作。我们与Raritan是真正的伙伴关系:双方双赢合作一同面对现在跟迈向未来的挑战。

了解更多关于力登
客户

Shands HealthCare,隶属于佛罗里达州健康科学中心大学,提供美国东南部一流的小区服务并拥有10,000多名员工。Shands 包括各大教学医院,专科医院,门诊康复中心组成的网络,家庭保健机构和急诊室(ER)也是第一儿科急诊室之一。

此外,Shands 旗下有国家指定的一级创伤中心,紧急空运与地面运输服务。

挑战

在Shands IT团队不仅要为用户提供最佳的服务又能有效地利用IT资源。

当佛罗里达州的 Shands IT团队开始负责三个额外的数据中心,该团队开始寻找一个新的工具,可以帮助数据中心管理所有服务器、UPS和设备,以及连接的设备的定位。

原有 IT资产追踪的方法,如 Excel电子表格和 Visio平面图不堪重负,因为灵活性不足以支持多个远程数据中心与业务扩张对于 IT不断增长的需求。 IT团队需要一个更好和更有效的方式来追踪资产和容量。

IT团队也一直在寻找解决方案,以帮助提高数据中心的整体能源效率。dcTrack DCIM软件可管理数据中心资源包括IT资产,机架空间,以及服务器耗用和冷却环境的能源。

解决方案

dcTrack DCIM软件,用于管理数据中心资源,包括 IT资产、机架空间,以及服务器耗用和环境冷却的能源。

结果
  • Shands HealthCare 在数据中心执行dcTrack 获益无数,包括提升50 %的资产追踪效率。
  • 当设备增添或移动,Shands 的IT团队现在可简单地通过dcTrack的仪表画面,很容易地找到可用的空间,电源和网络连接。
  • 智能容量,移动和资产管理功能可帮助进行预测。.

« Previous Case Study
Experian

Next Case Study »
Morgan Keegan

M09d7985558ade272994d354ca7dbbec35
mobile
 
Blog Support About Us Contact Us

UF Health Shands Saves 50% in Asset Tracking Efficiency with Raritan’s Data Center Infrastructure Management (DCIM) dcTrack® Solution

UF Health Shands, a premier healthcare provider, has leveraged DCIM (data center infrastructure management) to gain a better understanding and clearer picture of its data center resources – and is using that information to make better decisions for improving performance and capacity planning. “With dcTrack DCIM software we now have an up-to-minute picture of capacities in all our data centers in terms of power, space, networking and cooling,” says Joseph Keena, Manager of Data Center Operations at UF Health Shands in Gainesville, Fla. “ As a result, we are able to track our data center capacity more accurately and assess our infrastructure needs for the future.”

To provide quality patient care and services, Shands’ data centers support more than 200 applications, ranging from the typical ones found in most businesses – such as e-mail, online portals, back-office applications, HR, and financials – as well as applications supporting the work done in labs, ERs, hospital floors, clinics, radiology, and in just about every corner of the UF Health Shands network. Shands most important application is its hospital information system, called EPIC, that supports all patient caregivers. EPIC is a big data generator. Each day EPIC gathers information on caregiver-patient encounters, medical records, and every work order, such as lab work, in all of Shands’ locations. As a result of all that data collection, Shands recently passed the petabyte mark in data storage; and the healthcare provider expects to double its storage in the next 18 months.

“With dcTrack DCIM software we now have an up-to-minute picture of capacities in all our data centers in terms of power, space, networking and cooling.””
Joseph Keena
Manager of Data Center Operations UF Health Shands

Shands’ data centers have also grown – from one to four locations. Two serve as disaster recovery and one as second-tier storage. The main data center has 120 racks of equipment, two 500 kVA UPSs and a mainframe computer. The server racks – in the state-of-the-art 3,000-square-foot space – house a VMware farm with 20 physical servers and 185 virtual hosts, which have helped Shands save considerably on space.

In addition to better utilizing valuable data center space, Shands also was looking to better manage and use its other resources, such as equipment, power and cooling.  Shands selected Raritan’s dcTrack solution because it maintains accurate, up-to-the-minute views and granu- lar details of every device, along with their end-to-end connections, across multiple data centers. It keeps track of servers, devices, and networking and facilities elements, and shows details on equipment, as well as raised floor space and rack elevations. Not only does dcTrack excel at asset management, but it also uniquely provides real-time views of a data center capacity in terms of power capacity, heat dissipation, and data network availability.

 
Raritan sat down with Joseph Keena, Manager of Data Center Operations at Shands, to learn more on how his team uses DCIM to better manage data center resources. 
What was happening at Shands that prompted the need for a DCIM solution?

We’ve been growing the data center for quite a while, and with this growth we needed a better way to track the equipment we had in the data center and how that equipment was connected. We’ve done all the usual things, which is: you start off tracking your IT assets with paper, and then you go to placing inventory signs on the ends of every row, and then you start using spreadsheets to try to keep track of things. We had done all of those things in terms of trying to keep track of what’s where and what does our space and capacity look like.

Beyond trying to keep track of assets in a changing environment, we also were constantly doing a battle between power, space and cooling, just like any other data center. You solve one of those three issues, and then that drives one or both of the other items to be under capacity. So, we knew that a DCIM solution was going to be needed in order for us to have a chance of keeping up with capacity planning and growth; and, to track what’s where and what we are doing in the data center. It was a natural progression – we were at that point that we needed to invest in a DCIM solution.

So, why did you select Raritan’s dcTrack?

We actually did a very extensive RFP process; and, through that process we narrowed it down to four different vendors. One of the reasons for selecting Raritan is that everyone at the company is willing to be a true partner with us in our DCIM journey. Raritan has been in the data center space for a very long time – so they weren’t new to this market space or it wasn’t an afterthought to other things that they’re doing. dcTrack has all the key elements – asset, capacity, and change management and works seamlessly with Raritan’s energy and power management solution (Power IQ®), so that all the key DCIM areas are covered. We purchased dcTrack virtual appliances for all of our racks.

Would you please share with us how you went about implementing dcTrack?

We approached it in phases. The first phase focused on ‘let’s find all the devices and servers’, and the second phase is let’s find all the connections to those – whether it is KVM, copper, fiber or power connects.

We started with the Raritan training folks giving us hands-on training onsite with the dcTrack product. That was invaluable to us. After being trained, our implementation team took a couple of weeks to develop standards and implementation processes that we would use moving forward. They addressed items, such as how we should do a physical inventory. dcTrack lends itself to creating your own tailored processes, because the solution is flexible and you’re not tied to what comes in the package; even though dcTrack comes with an extensive device library, you can easily add your own elements. After establishing standards and processes, the actual deployment of the dcTrack virtual appliance was very straightforward and very easy to do. The server team responsible for that had no problems at all.

Was it difficult to implement DCIM in an existing data center?

Because we are, obviously, a live 24/7 facility, you can’t drop everything and stop what you’re doing to do the implementation; so we divided the work. We started in our smaller sites, with asset inventory using a three-step process. We had somebody go out on the data center floor and do pre-inventory. They would go out and say, ‘Okay, this server, this make and model, named this, is in this rack, this U.’ The information was given to a second person to actually enter into dcTrack. And then, a third person would get the report generated from dcTrack saying, ‘Please go validate that this information is now correct compared to what’s actually in the rack.’ Having this process of checks and balances has proved critical to our success.

Once a rack or a site was completed, anything moving in or out of that location was required to go through dcTrack before physical work could be completed.
If there is a change, add or move, dcTrack’s auto- discovery engine updates the inventory database. This has reduced manual inputting of information and insures that information is accurate.

After completing the physical inventory for all our data center locations, we moved onto phase two, which focuses on all the connections – all of the KVM, copper connects, power connect and fiber connects.

Phase three for us was partnering with our network infrastructure group to do a pilot of one of their tel- ecommunications rooms, which are located outside the data centers. So, we’ve provided onsite training to core members of their group, and we will be help- ing them to model one of their telecommunications rooms and all the connections in and out of that room in dcTrack.

In phase four, we’ll be starting the SNMP gathering and reporting on power utilization in the data centers. Shands plans to use dcTrack’s ability to track power usage to calculate the PUE (power utilization efficiency) of its data centers. dcTrack leverages Power IQ’s power and environmental data collection, and its ability to find unused capacity by determining in real time the draw of individual data center equipment.

How has dcTrack helped UF Health Shands keep track of IT assets?

Before we deployed dcTrack, it would mean a trip out onto the data center floor to confirm or deny that a server is in a certain location. Now, we can just pull up the asset information on the dcTrack screen and see that server X is located in this rack, in this U; or see that it is no longer a physical server, but is now a virtual server. Accurate asset records have given us a 50 percent gain in efficiency in terms of locating an asset’s physical location within the data centers.”

I understand that you had requested new features to be added in dcTrack?

Early on, we had identified the need to integrate our service request process with our DCIM solution. So we had asked Raritan development for help. Raritan went off and wrote a Web services API that would not only work with our LANDesk, but with other service request systems out there.

“One of the reasons for selecting Raritan is that everyone at the company is willing to be a true partner with us in our DCIM journey.”
Joseph Keena
Manager of Data Center Operations UF Health Shands
How is this integrated process working?

We now have a seamless workflow process – from ticket creation to data center deployment. Requests come into the service desk, which then places the request into dcTrack. Based on space, power and network connectivity information, dcTrack’s search feature helps pick an optimal location for placing the server. dcTrack leads us through each step of the process to fulfill a new server request. Once the IT equipment gets delivered to us, we then go do the physical racking, connecting, labeling – and then come back and close out the request in dcTrack, which notifies LANDesk that the equipment is ready to go. This process makes it easier to make adds and changes, and improves the accuracy of our asset inventory.

You mentioned that there was another feature request.
One of the other big enhancement requests that we had asked Raritan was important for our network team – the ability to do end-to-end connection tracing across different media.

In today’s modern data center, the method of transmission changes along the way. It goes from copper to fiber in most data centers. And so, the ability to trace from a copper switch, back to fiber, back through a patch panel to this core router was important; and, that capability came out in dcTrack 2.6.

dcTrack’s intelligent connectivity management capabilities enable us to manage both network and power connections more efficiently. With better visibility of end-to-end connections, untapped capacity can be discovered and used – reducing capital and operational expenditures.

Who on your team uses dcTrack and how do they typically use it?

The entire data center team uses dcTrack. I use it as a monitoring tool to check our progress on the different phases of the project. So, I did get set up as a gatekeeper, which means I can go in there and look and see what’s going on, what stage are each of the requests at, things like that.

dcTrack’s workflow and change management capabilities support our daily moves, adds, and changes in our operations.

dcTrack’s “capacity search, reserve and place tool” will be used often. I see us using that tool for capacity planning and reserving much more, especially the reserving. I see us using the reserve function as an even better way of keeping an eye on capacity, so that we can put placeholders on resources in dcTrack as soon as somebody thinks that they’ve got a project lighting up. Being able to search and reserve that space for that potential project ahead of time is very helpful.

Are there any regulations in the healthcare industry that require IT asset tracking?

Some regulatory agencies do want to know where an application resides. So the ability to use dcTrack to tie an application to a physical or virtual server, which is phase five for us, will become critical moving forward. With dcTrack, we’ll be able to provide quicker responses, when needed, for those agencies that do want to see where you are holding information and the physical security surrounding it.

What results are you seeing with dcTrack?

There are a number of goals that we are working to- wards. One big one that we see us working towards is PUE calculation, power utilization efficiency. dcTrack, and its ability to record what power is being used by what servers/application, definitely will help us.

And with capacity planning and reporting that dcTrack has in it, we’ll be able to project accurately when we will run out of capacity, so that we can start planning farther ahead, just like a server team or a storage team keeps an eye on their capacities. We’ll have a much more fluid and up-to-minute picture of our capacities in terms of power, space and cooling and be able to provide that information on a regular basis to management to say, ‘Here’s how we’re situated’ and ‘Here’s how we’ve been trending.’

“We started with the Raritan training folks giving us hands-on training onsite with the dcTrack product. That was invaluable to us .”
Joseph Keena
Manager of Data Center Operations UF Health Shands

dcTrack has made server moves, adds and changes more efficient because it tells us exactly where a server and its supporting infrastructure are located.

We also think that dcTrack will help us in troubleshooting and preventing problems. By providing physical trace information and knowing how it all physically connects, in terms of the power chain and data network chain, dcTrack helps speed repair time. Being able to see all the IT equipment supporting a specific application is also valuable. We also will be able to see if there are common elements from past events, such as a connectivity issue or certain applications not working- right. By having a clear picture of all the connections and records of past events, we’re anticipating that we will be able to point people in the right direction for looking at possible causes from a physical standpoint.

Would you like to add anything else?

We really value partnering with our vendors. We have a true partnership with Raritan. The partnership is two ways; it is about making sure that we’re both getting stronger moving forward.

Learn More About Raritan
Customer

UF Health Shands, affiliated with the University of Florida Health Science Center, is a premier health system that serves communities in the Southeast Unit- ed States and employs 10,000-plus employees. Shands includes major teaching hospitals, specialty hospitals, a network of outpatient rehabilitation centers, home health agencies and emergency rooms (ER) – including one of the first pediatric ERs.

Also under the Shands umbrella are state-designated Level I Trauma Centers and emergency air and ground transport programs.

Challenges

The Shands IT team not only wanted to deliver optimal services to users, it also wanted to efficiently use IT resources.

When the Shands IT team in Gainesville, Fla., became responsible for three additional data centers, the team began looking for new tools that would help answer what equipment was in each data center and exactly where every server, UPS, and device was located – and what was connected to what.

The old way of tracking IT assets, Excel spreadsheets and Visio floor plans, was not going to be flexible enough to support the added scope of multiple remote data centers – nor the ever-increasing demands on IT to support changes for a growing business. The IT team wanted a better and efficient way to track assets and capacity.

The IT team also was looking for solutions to help improve overall energy efficiency in the data centers. dcTrack DCIM software for managing data center resources – IT assets, rack space, and energy used to power servers and cool the environment.

Solutions

dcTrack DCIM software for managing data center resources– IT assets, rack space, and energy used to power servers and cool the environment.

Results
  • Shands HealthCare achieved numerous efficiencies when it implemented dcTrack in its data centers, including 50 percent improvements in asset tracking efficiency.
  • When adding or changing equipment, Shands’ IT team is now able to easily find available space, power and network connectivity by simply clicking on dcTrack’s dashboard.
  • Intelligent capacity, change and asset management capabilities are helping with forecasting activities.

« Previous Case Study
Experian

Next Case Study »
Morgan Keegan