M09d7985558ade272994d354ca7dbbec35
mobile
 
博客 支持 关于我们 联系我们

美国Choice Hotels酒店采用了美国力登的远程电源管理和服务器访问服务,推进“无人值守”计划

Choice Hotel 数据中心团队24小时全年无休监控

Choice Hotels 集团是世界上最大的住宿企业,在全球拥有超过6,300家饭店,旗下包括 Comfort Inn、 Comfort Suites、 Sleep Inn, EconoLodge 和Cambria Suites 等11个家知名旅馆品牌。为了精简成本和提高效率,公司决定从传统的数据中心转换成到「无人值守」外包模式。

全球预定系统身为Choice Hotels的业务命脉,处理所有饭店每一笔交易。每当有人提出预约、50万客房的退订和在线询房,数据交易信息都会进入 Choice的数据中心。任何服务中断都可能导致的收入损失和客户不满意,IT 团队面临在变化和营运新的「无人值守」数据中心,一小时处理远处的故障,确保万无一失。 Choice Hotel数据中心营运资深管理人员 Gregg Brown 表示:「就算不在现场,我们也能够维持数据中心优质的营运作业水平,。」

Raritan的解决方案大幅提升我们新的「无人值守」数据中心营运效率
「我们即使不在现场也可24小时随时访问和控制我们数据中心的每一个环节。 」
Gregg Brown
Choice Hotels 的数据中心营运资深主管

因此,布朗和他的团队利用Raritan新的数据中心创建一个“虚拟现场运维”模式。为了支持旅馆的业务需求,并满足「三个九」服务层级协议(Service Level Agreement;SLA),确保预订速度及可用性, Choice Hotels 部署新的远程管理技术来管理其服务器和数据中心基础架构。


评估解决方案过程的一环是,我们了解全美各地多家服务器代管公司,了解到其他公司是如何管理远程数据中心。  Brown 说:「当我们整体分析之后,Raritan成为首选,因为可提供在电源, KVM和DCIM的远程管理功能 。」

远程智能电源管理

Choice Hotels 有自己的机柜内智能电源需求规格条件,要求稳定电力输送和远程插座级电力和能源的监控,都有易于使用的Web接口。  Brown 表示:「还需具备关闭服务器和设备电源的功能。该智能电源也必须支持所有的服务器和设备,包括我们的60A的UCS刀片服务器和我们现有的监控解决方案。」

我们考虑过APC和艾默生等其他几家公司机柜内智能电源之后,Choice Hotels最终选择了Raritan的PX智能电源产品。Brown 说:「这款智能电源正是我们梦寐所求的,, 它可以达到插座层级的控制和监测,我们也不需要走到数据中心里面就可以关闭或开启服务器或显示器的电源。」

智能电源也可以作为环境监测的智能型平台。Choice Hotels采购Raritan的湿度/温度传感器,插入的智能电源传感器端口。 Brown 说:「由于在每个机柜都备有双智能电源和温湿度传感器 ,可以得到前面和横部传感器的信息。因此,我们可以同时监视进入和进出的空气温度和湿度。」

在Web的图形界面使数据中心管理员可以远程监测传感器,并获得实时或某时段的报告数值,了解以上信息以确保数据中心环境的设备营运保持在最佳状态。

从智能电源和传感器收集到的信息是通过Raritan的Power IQ能源管理软件进行分析和监控以便于洞察。该软件追踪每一个目标服务器能源消耗趋势,即使服务器有2或4个电源模块。分析菜单可以显示哪些设备运行效率低下、能源消耗趋势和节能工作是否有效。如果有热点或过冷的地方,警告信息会发出。 「如果我们看到的功耗方面变化,我们会检查服务器,看它是否是稳定,或者如果它的气流受到阻挡。」,布朗说。

Power IQ的也可以执行分组的成本分析。 Brown 说:「在代管模式中,你负担实际使用的电量费用, Power IQ能使我们追踪的实际使用的功耗,精确算出我们应当付出的费用。

远程服务器访问

从任何地方要访问服务器包括VMware服务器,,Choice Hotels增添加数字KVM交换机到新的托管数据中心。它还执行Raritan的命令中心安全网关以简化访问设备连接到所有的KVM 。

 Brown 说:「当我们看到Raritan的KXII的KVM交换机。它的图形用户界面提供了使用浏览器进行服务器和设备的安全访问,使我们印象深刻。

「 Raritan的安全网关进一步简化了管理,通过单一控制台访问就可以知道它背后的每一个KVM交换机的IP地址和服务器列表。我们从一个IP地址进入,我们可以看到每一个服务器。当我们选择一个服务器,从安全网关进入到正确的KVM。不像以前,当一台服务器当机时,需要有人开车一个小时到现场按一个键。今天,我们可以使用KVM访问服务器,而且我们可以使用智能电源来关闭电源,等待几秒钟,然后打开电源就可以完成任务。」

Choice Hotels 新的标准机柜配置

现在Choice Hotels新增部署一个机柜的标准是包括:Raritan的两个机架智能电源、两个Raritan湿度/温度传感器、一个 Raritan 数字KVM交换机和两个网络交换机。为了配合公司的快速发展步伐,新的标准机柜配置提供的“交钥匙”解决方案,很容易快速部署,并提供管理员密切关注的所有功能。如果需有新的机柜要部署,可马上从库房中提取所需的智能电源、数字KVM的和传感器 。

资产管理解决方案是远程数据中心的灵魂之窗

Choice Hotels采用了Raritan的机柜电子资产管理解决方案,以确保第三方托管人员在正确的设备进行操作。资产管理条上的LED灯闪烁,以帮助正确识别目标服务器。此外,由于每个服务器都有资产标签,当服务器新安装或移除,信号会立即被发送。 「任何时候,我们都知道服务器已经安装或移除 」,这也有助于Choice Hotels保持准确及时服务器和其他IT资产的库存信息。

为了进一步帮助员工识别数据中心的众多设备,Choice Hotels决定使用Raritan的彩色智能电源和彩色电缆。在用多个电源供电的场合,这些颜色有助于区分服务器和其他设备的供电来源是线路A还是线路B。在远处、从任何角度和所有照明场所。颜色也可以更容易地识别和定位机架式智能电源和所有电源链组件。

DCIM实施场景

Choice Hotels在决定统一使用Raritan的DCIM (数据中心基础架构管理)--电子资产管理解决方案。Choice Hotels 采用 DCIM 将解决方案取代现在的电子表格来追踪资产,并提供新的功能,如电力和空间容量管理,以及设备的增加,移动和改变。

Brown 说:「我们希望能够给我们的营运人员数据中心的整体情况,使他们可以看到机柜内的每一个细节。在点入DCIM屏幕画面可显示立面视图,并查看有关该服务器的准确信息,包括它的位置,它的系统运作,序列号和网络端口类别。 」

Brown 补充:「我们成功地部署了Raritan 全方位的远程访问解决方案,以管理数据中心。我不用再担心我的团队一定要在实际现场操作,随时随地我们可定义在Choice Hotels数据中心内设备进行一切操作,团队成员们终于可以安心睡个好觉。 」

了解更多关于力登
客户

Choice Hotels International

挑战
  • 如何以「无人值守」方式管理新数据中心
  • 如何采用电子资产标签来确保,第三方代管人员正确找到安装和移除服务器/设备
  • 如何追踪在远程机柜的能源使用和环境情况
解决方案
  • 机架式智能电源
  • 温度/湿度传感器
  • Raritan DCIM 软件
  • Dominion ® KX II 数字KVM交换机
  • CommandCenter®安全网关
结果
  • 增加对营运的洞察了解和更有效地运作
  • 提供正常运行时间,并满足并超越的客户满意度
  • 精确计量能源使用,负担实际发生的费用
  • 通过单一的URL,安全地访问到每一台服务器的KVM控制台
  • 利用插座层级电源开关「开/关服务器电源」”
  • 减少数据中心来回耗费时间,以降低数据中心的运营成本
  • 收集设备单独电量信息,并分组合并计算统计分析
  • 监控机架进出入空气的温度和湿度
  • 确保第三方代管人员按照你的指示移动目标服务器到指定位置

« Previous Case Study
Ebay

Next Case Study »
LAUER-FISCHER

M09d7985558ade272994d354ca7dbbec35
mobile
 
Blog Support About Us Contact Us

Choice Hotels Goes 'Lights Out' with Remote Power Management and Server Access from Raritan

No Sleepless Nights for Choice Hotels’ Data Center Team

With more than 6,300 hotels, Choice Hotels International is one of the largest lodging companies in the world, franchising eleven well-known hotel brand names that include Comfort Inn, Comfort Suites, Sleep Inn, EconoLodge and Cambria Suites. To streamline costs and improve efficiencies, the company decided to move from a traditional data center to a remote “lights-out” colocation model.

At the heart of Choice Hotels is its global reservation system that handles all hotel transactions. Every time someone makes a reservation, checks in or out of one of the 500,000 guest rooms, or looks up rooms online, the transaction goes through Choice’s data center. Any disruption in service could result in lost revenue and dissatisfied customers. The challenge was to make the move and operate the new “lights-out” data center, located more than an hour away from the IT team — without missing a beat. “We would need to maintain our high level of operational support in a data center in which we are not physically located,” says Gregg Brown, Senior Administrator of Data Center Operation at Choice Hotels.

“Raritan’s solution dramatically improved our new ‘lights-out’ data center operations.”

“We now have access and control of every aspect of our infrastructure 24 x 7 without being on-site .”
Gregg Brown
Senior Administrator for Data Center Operation, Choice Hotels

So Brown and his team tapped Raritan to create a virtual presence in the new data center. To support the hotel’s business needs and to meet “three nines” service level agreements (SLAs) that guarantee speed and availability for reservations, Choice Hotels deployed new remote management technologies to manage its servers and data center infrastructure.

As part of the solution evaluation process, Choice visited a number of colocation facilities throughout the United States to learn how other companies managed remote data centers. “As we did our analysis, Raritan kept floating to the top in terms of remote management capabilities in power, KVM, and DCIM,” says Brown.

Remote Intelligent Power Management

Choice Hotels had a list of requirements for its in-cabinet PDU. It needed to provide reliable power delivery, as well as remote outlet-level monitoring of power and energy, all with an easy-to-use web interface. “It also needed to be able to unplug a server or device virtually,” says Brown. “The PDU also had to support all our servers and devices, including our 60A UCS blade servers, and our existing monitoring solution.”

After evaluating in-cabinet PDUs from APC, Emerson and several other companies, Choice Hotels selected Raritan’s PX intelligent PDU (iPDU). “It was exactly what we needed — a PDU that can control and monitor at the outlet level,” says Brown. “We no longer need to walk into the data center to unplug a server or to monitor the power.” 

The iPDUs also serve as an intelligent platform for environmental monitoring. Choice Hotels purchased Raritan’s humidity/temperature sensors that plug into the iPDU sensor port. “Since there are two PDUs in each cabinet, one gets a forward sensor and one gets a rear sensor. As a result, we can monitor the incoming and outgoing air temperature and humidity,” says Brown.

A Web-based GUI enables data center managers to monitor sensors remotely and report and plot values in real-time or over a period of time. The information is used to ensure the data center environment is optimal for equipment operations.

For additional insight, information gathered by the iPDUs and sensors are analyzed and monitored by Raritan’s Power IQ energy management software. The software tracks power consumption trends for each of Choice’s servers, including those with dual- and quad-power supplies. The analytics component can show which devices may be operating inefficiently based on energy consumption trends, whether power conservation efforts are working, and if there are hot spots or over-cooled areas. The information serves as an early indicator of trouble. “If we see changes in power consumption, we’ll check the server to see if it is balanced or if its airflow is blocked,” says Brown.

Power IQ also can perform cost-of-ownership analysis. “In the colo model, you pay for the power that is used. Power IQ lets us track our power consumption so that we can verify that we are being charged accurately,” says Brown.

Remote Server Access

To access servers, including VMware servers, from anywhere, Choice Hotels added digital KVM switches to its new colo data center. It also implemented Raritan’s Command Center SecureGateway to simplify access to equipment connected to all the KVMs.

“We were impressed when we saw the Raritan KXII KVM switch. Its graphical user interface provides secure access to servers and devices using an internet browser,” says Brown.

“Raritan’s Secure Gateway further simplifies things by providing a single pane-of-glass console access versus needing to know every KVM switch’s IP address and servers behind it. We just go to one IP address, and we can see every server. When we choose a server, the secure gateway goes to the right KVM for us. Long gone are the unproductive days when someone has to drive an hour, press a button if a server is hung and then drive back. Today we can use the KVM to access the server or we can use the PDU to turn the power off, wait a couple of seconds and then turn the power back on.”

Choice Hotels’ New Standard Cabinet Configuration

Today when a new cabinet is deployed in Choice’s colocation facility it includes: two Raritan intelligent rack PDUs, two Raritan humidity/temperature sensors, one Raritan KVM switch, and two network switches. To keep pace with the company’s rapid growth, the new standard cabinet configuration provides a turnkey solution that is easy and quick to deploy, and provides all the functionality for managing and keeping an eye on new equipment. The company keeps in its colo cage extra PDUs, KVMs and sensors — all ready to deploy if a new cabinet is needed.

Eyes on Remote Data Center with Asset Management Solution

Choice Hotels uses Raritan’s in-the-rack electronic asset management solutions to ensure that third-party colo personnel work on the correct equipment. The asset management strip’s LED lights blink to identify the correct server to work on. In addition, each server has an asset tag that sends a signal when a server is installed or disconnected. “We know anytime a server has been installed or unracked.” It also helps Choice Hotels keep accurate, real-time inventory of servers and other IT assets.

To further help workers in identifying equipment in the data center, Choice Hotels decided to use Raritan’s color iPDUs and cables in red and blue. The colors help distinguish between A feeds and B feeds for powering servers and other devices with multiple power supplies. Color also makes it easier to identify and locate rack PDUs, and all power chain components, at a distance, from any angle and in all lighting situations.

Stage Set for DCIM Implementation

Choice Hotels plans to uses the electronic asset management solution in concert with Raritan’s DCIM (data center infrastructure management) software. The DCIM solution will replace spreadsheets now used by Choice Hotels to track assets, and will provide new capabilities such as managing power and space capacity, as well as equipment additions, moves and changes.

“We want to be able to give our operations staff a complete picture of the data center so they can see every detail at the cabinet level,” says Brown. “You click on the DCIM screen, and it’ll go down to the elevation view, and see accurate information about that server, including its location, its operating systems, serial number, and what network port it is using.

“Now, that we have successfully deployed Raritan’s comprehensive remote access solution to manage our data center virtually, I no longer have to worry about not having my team physically at the site,” adds Brown. “I can say that here at Choice Hotels the data center operations team is able to sleep very well at night.”

Learn More About Raritan
Customer

Choice Hotels International

Challenges
  • How to manage new data center at “lightsout” colo facility.
  • How to keep tabs on assets and whether third-party colo personnel move correct server/equipment.
  • How to track energy usage and environmental conditions in remote cabinets.
Solutions
  • Intelligent rack PDUs
  • Temperature/Humidity sensors
  • Raritan DCIM Software
  • Smart electronic asset-management solution
  • Dominion ® KX II KVM-switches
  • CommandCenter® Secure Gateway
Results
  • Gain operational insight and operate more efficiently.
  • Increase uptime and meet and exceed SLAs.
  • Track energy usage at colo, so pay for only what you use.
  • Securely access to every server’s KVM console through a single URL.
  • Leverage outlet-level power switching to “unplug a server virtually.”
  • Reduce operational costs by eliminating hour-long trips to data center.
  • Gather information on individual devices and aggregated across multiple power supplies.
  • Monitor incoming and outgoing air temperatures and humidity in server racks.
  • Ensure third-party colo personnel move the server you want them to move.

« Previous Case Study
Ebay

Next Case Study »
LAUER-FISCHER