M09d7985558ade272994d354ca7dbbec35
mobile
 
博客 支持 关于我们 联系我们

Morgan Keegan分公司的效率强化来自于Raritan的解决方案

首屈一指的投资公司 Morgan Keegan & Company无法容许任何停机事件的发生,因为全美国各地的个人投资者、企业及不同机构客户都依靠这家全国公认优质公司提供全方位的银行投资,证券经纪,财富和资产管理服务。

为了保持其高质量的研究和及时的财务咨询声誉, Morgan Keegan的分析师和经纪人必须二十四小时访问数据,从外部消息和市场信息,以及内部财务和客户管理系统,所以无论他们人在数据中心隔壁或位于数百里外的400个分公司内,都需要快如闪电般的连接速度。

Raritan的产品已帮助该公司在其两个数据中心高质量的稳定传送正常运行。然而,支持他们的远程分支办公地点成为一个更大的任务。

基于Raritan的远程管理产品在其数据中心的出色表现, Morgan Keegan 选择了Raritan的新的Dominion ® KSX II ,其下一代设备提供位于分公司的各种IT设备始终可用的安全访问。Dominion KSX II不仅会大幅减少解决支持问题的所需时间,它也可以让现有的Morgan Keegan的IT人员来处理新增的分公司的问题。

维护能见度

超过3,200 Morgan Keegan的员工在19个州依靠其数据中心和网络基础架构有效运作。该公司的负责 IT 的118名员工在美国田纳西州的两个数据中心工作:一个为主要网站,而另一为持续运营网站, 其中约20员工在停机事件一发生就能够准备马上重新启动运作。

为了监控这些数据中心每一个设备, Morgan Keegan使用Raritan的CommandCenter ®安全网关,它将所有IT设备连接经由Raritan的KVM-over -IP切换器整合到单一显示画面。使用一个IP地址就可以轻易访问的安全网关, 还提供用户身份验证,并且使IT管理员通过最适当的方式访问目标服务器,包括KVM-over -IP 、串行控制台, DRAC 4与iLO/iLO2 。

CommandCenter安全网关将Raritan的64端口的Dominion KX和Dominion KX II的KVM-over - IP切换器整合,它支持多并发用户,从单一键盘/图像/鼠标控制面板对服务器及其它 IT设备安全、BIOS层级的控制。

Don Meyers 身为Morgan Keegan企业信息安全和核心服务经理的资深副总裁,并领导该公司的 IT与物理安全部门。他说:「只要轻轻单击屏幕画面上的图标,我们可以访问任何服务器,无论它位于何处。通过CommandCenter网关,我们的认证可迅速指派员工他们各自对应管理的服务器。 ”」

挑战远程支持

但 Morgan Keegan 正面临支持遥远的分公司问题,其中有九十个办公室操作大量IT设备,包括至少有两个服务器,一个财务金融数据的 Reuters服务器,用于手机日志记录的桌面计算机,PBX或IP电话系统以及桌面计算机。

当一个分公司发生了效率问题, Morgan Keegan 已经通过远程软件支持解决方案解决该问题。但是,仍被证明费时和有问题的存在。

Meyers说 :「有时候,如果我们试图重新启动,系统就会当掉,我们打给分公司必须通过办公室经理执行或启动复原。此外,进行支持消耗的网络带宽,可能会导致跨广域网反应时间变慢,这可能会降低效率,而Morgan Keegan的客户会觉得在花比平常更长的时间来获取信息。」

IT人员也不得不限制服务器的维护和重启的时间,在办公室里复位系统时可用的资源会存在问题。另外,服务器的操作系统必须运行,以便远程软件解决方案正常工作。如果操作系统崩溃后,将没有办法访问服务器 - 就必须短期旅行到分支办公室。

Dominion KSX II 加速分辨的时间

要解决这些问题, Morgan Keegan 选择了Raritan的Dominion KSX II , 混合型的KVM over IP,有 IP 串行控制台和电源管理。Dominion KSX II在一个单一设备集成了这些关键的远程管理和控制技术,使任何IT设备 - 包括服务器,切换器,路由器和PBX-- 等皆可实质性的修复。

Raritan的成功记录已经赢得 Morgan Keegan 的拥护。Meyers说:「我们使用Raritan的产品已经五年以上,所以选择了RaritanKSX II 配置在我们的分公司,因为Raritan设备在我们的数据中心每天的运营已经证明了它的能力。从第一天使用集中管理系统CommandCenter开始,我们变很喜欢使用它而不是原本两个不同的系统安全网关。由于每个分公司都配备了KSX II ,CommandCenter 安全网关的屏幕上可以看到该设备和其连接的所有设备。」

完整的远程设备BIOS级键盘/鼠标控制,以及功率循环控制,可以让IT人员不用寻求当地非技术员工的协助,能够在不降低网络效能或依托当地人员即可执行远程办公室的维护和支持。

由于KSX II 的带外操作, Morgan Keegan可访问故障设备,即使网络出现故障、操作系统被冻结或当机,服务器不能被访问。先进的安全功能,包括键盘,视讯和鼠标数据,强大的密码支持256位高级加密标准(AES )加密,支持登录失败锁定,以及内置的身份验证功能,确保 Morgan Keegan 的敏感财务数据的安全。

通过一个Web 接口登录, IT团队可以实时查看在每个分公司的所有IT设备,以及访问、监控、故障排除,维修和重新启动设备。如果与Raritan的智能型PDU 及 Dominion PX一同使用时,需要时可循环通断电。这样可以节省差旅时间和费用,当然,也会提高分公司办公室的绩效。

因具备虚拟媒体功能, IT管理员可以方便地通过KVM-over - IP连接使用自己的本地存储媒体(CD / DVD / USB驱动器/硬盘驱动器)将数据传输到远程服务器。这是理想的安装软件,升级和bug修复的方法。

Meyers说:「通过Dominion KSX II随时可用的带外连接,它可以让我们不用担心繁杂的周末维护,不需有人实际去按重启按钮, 我们很高兴在员工早上来上班之前我们就可以让系统运行起来。」

Meyers说:「「我们每周一次重新启动25 %服务器。 以前,我们可能是这样小批量做,现在我们可以更大数量进行,因为我们知道,不管什么情况我们将可进行访问功能,当硬盘需要更换,该解决方案具备的虚拟媒体功能,让IT人员可以远程重新安装镜像到新的硬盘。

Morgan Keegan目前为止 已经安装KSX II到它的约三分之一的90个大分公司,其余的因为分公司开设或搬迁,年度安装率为 20%到30% 的增减率。

Meyers说:「随着KSXII 到位, 我们可以提供更好的支持,并且更少的干扰,允许IT人员将其时间和资源用在别处, Morgan Keegan的金融专家专注于手头的业务。它实至名归的功能是最重要的。 」

了解更多关于力登
客户

拥有超过3,200名员工的投资公司Morgan Keegan,提供个人投资者,企业及不同机构客户多样化的金融需求服务。

挑战

该公司需要一个更能实时反应的方式来管理其全美国400多个各地分公司,它的IT部门需要一个解决方案,可以随时随地提供稳定及安全地访问到各分公司的服务器。

解决方案

客户选定在每个分公司设置一台 Raritan的Dominion KSX2 -188设备,它提供了8个KVM端口, 8个串口和2个电源控制端口。
这项决定是基于以下标准:

  • 随时可用的访问
  • 安全
  • 远程电源管理
  • 能够修复虚拟媒体的漏洞
  • 与 Morgan Keegan 两个数据中心现有的KVM-over - IP 维护网络兼容运作
结果

Dominion KSX II 提供远程访问到各分公司办公室IT设备功能, 使 Morgan Keegan 的IT部门受益如下:

  • 减少到分公司出差次数
  • 提高生产力
  • 降低平均维修时间
  • 从家里就可以轻易对分公司办公室设备进行定期周末维护任务

« Previous Case Study
UF Health Shands

Next Case Study »
Dutch National Lottery

M09d7985558ade272994d354ca7dbbec35
mobile
 
Blog Support About Us Contact Us

Raritan Solution Bolsters Efficiency at Morgan Keegan Branch Offices

There is no room for downtime at premier investment firm Morgan Keegan & Company. Individual investors, corporate and institutional clients rely on the nationally recognized firm to deliver a full range of investment banking, securities brokerage, wealth and asset management services across the U.S.

To maintain its reputation for quality research and timely financial advice, Morgan Keegan analysts and brokers must have round-the-clock access to data, from external news and market feeds, and to internal financial and customer management systems. And, they need lightning- fast connectivity whether they’re next door to one of Morgan Keegan’s two data centers, or hundreds of miles away in one of the firm’s 400 branch offices.

Raritan products have been helping the firm deliver high levels of uptime in their two data centers. However, supporting their remote branch office sites was becoming a larger task.

Based on the stellar performance of Raritan’s remote management products in its data centers, Morgan Keegan chose Raritan’s new Dominion® KSX II, its next-generation appliance that delivers secure always-available access to the diverse IT equipment located at branch offices. Not only would the Dominion KSX II sharply reduce the time required resolving support issues, it would enable the existing Morgan Keegan IT staff to handle the newly added branch offices.

Maintaining Visibility

More than 3,200 Morgan Keegan employees in 19 states rely on its data centers and network infrastructure to operate efficiently. The firm’s 118 IT employees operate two data centers in Tennessee: one, a primary hot site; and the other, a business continuity site — where the staff of about 20 are ready to assume operations should the first site experience a downtime event.

To monitor every piece of equipment at those data centers, Morgan Keegan uses Raritan’s CommandCenter® Secure Gateway, which provides an aggregated view of all IT equipment connected to Raritan KVM-over-IP switches on a single screen. The Secure Gateway — conveniently accessed from anywhere, using one IP address — also provides user authentication, and enables IT administrators to initiate access to target servers through the most appropriate means, including KVM over IP, serial console, DRAC 4, and iLO/iLO2.

Integrated with CommandCenter Secure Gateway are Raritan’s 64-port Dominion KX and Dominion KX II KVM-over-IP switches, which provide multiple concurrent users with secure, BIOS-level control of servers and other IT devices from a single keyboard/video/mouse console.

“With a simple click of an icon on the screen, we can access any server no matter where it is located,” says Don Meyers, Senior Vice President, Corporate Information Security & Core Services Manager at Morgan Keegan & Co., Inc., who leads both the IT and physical security departments for the firm. “Our authentication, through CommandCenter Gateway, enables my staff to quickly get to the servers that they are assigned to administer.”

Remote Support Challenges

But Morgan Keegan was experiencing issues in supporting far-flung branches. Ninety of those offices operate a large range of IT equipment, including at least two servers, a Reuters server for financial feeds, recording PCs for phone logs, and PBX or IP phone systems, as well as desktops.

When a branch office experienced a performance event, Morgan Keegan had addressed the issue via a remote software support solution.
But, that had proved time-consuming and problematic.

“Sometimes if we tried a reboot and the system would hang, we would call the branch and have to have the office manager go in and perform or initiate a hard reset,” says Meyers. In addition, consuming network bandwidth to perform support “could cause a slower response time across the WAN,” he adds. “It could degrade performance, and the Morgan Keegan client would see that it was taking longer than usual to get information.”

The IT staff also had to limit server maintenance and reboots to times when a resource was available in the office to physically reset systems in the event of a problem. Plus, the server’s operating system had to be running in order for the remote software solution to work. If the OS had crashed after hours there was no way to access the server — short of traveling to the branch office.

Dominion KSX II Speeds Time to Resolution

To resolve these issues, Morgan Keegan chose Raritan’s Dominion KSX II, a hybrid of KVM over IP, serial console over IP and power management over IP. The Dominion KSX II integrates these key remote management and control technologies in a single appliance, so that any piece of IT equipment — including servers, switches, routers and PBXs — can be fixed virtually.

Raritan’s successful track record had already won Morgan Keegan’s allegiance. “We had been using Raritan products for more than five years,” Meyers says. “We chose the Raritan KSX II for our branch offices, because the Raritan equipment in our data center operations has proven itself every day. We also liked the idea of starting out on day one with an integrated system using our existing CommandCenter Secure Gateway, instead of having two different systems.” As each branch office is equipped with a KSX II, the appliance and all the attached equipment will immediately appear on the CommandCenter Secure Gateway screen.

Full BIOS-level and keyboard/mouse control, as well as power cycling control, of remote equipment allows IT staff to perform maintenance and support of remote offices without degrading network performance or relying on local, non-technical employees for assistance.

Since the KSX II operates out-of-band, Morgan Keegan can access troubled equipment even if the network is down or the operating system is frozen or crashes and the server cannot be accessed. Advanced security features, including 256-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) encryption of keyboard, video and mouse data, strong password support, failed login lockout support, and built-in authentication capabilities, ensure Morgan Keegan’s sensitive financial data remains secure.

Through a single Web-based logon, the IT team can view in real time all the IT equipment at each branch location, as well as access, monitor, troubleshoot, repair and reboot the equipment. If used with Raritan’s intelligent PDU, the Dominion PX, the power can be recycled when necessary. This saves travel time and costs and, of course, improves performance at the branch office.

With Virtual Media, IT administrators can conveniently transfer data to remote servers using their own local storage media (CD/DVD/USB drive/Hard drive) through a KVM-over-IP connection. This is ideal for installing software, upgrades and bug fixes.

“With the Dominion KSX II’s always-available out-of-band connectivity, it allows us to not worry so much about maintenance on the weekend and having someone there to touch the reset button,” says Meyers. “It’s nice to know we’ll be able to get the system up and running before employees come to work in the morning.

“We reboot 25 percent of our servers once a week,” adds Meyers. “Before, we may have done that in smaller quantities. Now we can do larger numbers because we know we’ll have access to them no matter what.” When hard drives need to be replaced, the solution’s Virtual Media capability means IT can reinstall the image onto the new drive remotely.

Morgan Keegan has installed the KSX II in about a third of its 90 larger branches so far, with the remaining installs occurring at a 20- to 30-per-year rate as branches are opened or moved.

With the KSX IIs in place, “We can provide better support, and be less intrusive,” says Meyers, allowing IT to focus its time and resources elsewhere, and Morgan Keegan financial experts to focus on the business at hand. “It works like it’s supposed to, and that’s what counts.”

Learn More About Raritan
Customer

With more than 3,200 employees, Investment Firm Morgan Keegan serves the diverse financial needs of individual investors, corporate and institutional clients.

Challenges

The company needed a more responsive way to manage its more than 400 branch offices in the U.S. The IT department wanted a solution that would provide reliable and secure access to branch office servers anytime.

Solutions

The customer selected to place in each of its branch offices a Raritan Dominion KSX2-188 — which provides 8 KVM ports, 8 serial ports and 2 power control ports.
The decision was based on the following criteria:

  • Always-available access
  • Security
  • Remote power management
  • Ability to fix patches with Virtual Media
  • Works with Morgan Keegan’s existing KVM-over-IP maintenance network used in managing its two data centers
Results

With the remote access to branch office IT equipment made possible by Dominion KSX II, Morgan Keegan’s IT department has:

  • Reduced travel to branch offices
  • Increased productivity
  • Reduced mean-time-to-repair
  • Performed regularly scheduled weekend maintenance tasks on branch office equipment from the convenience of their homes

« Previous Case Study
UF Health Shands

Next Case Study »
Dutch National Lottery