M09d7985558ade272994d354ca7dbbec35
mobile
 
博客 支持 关于我们 联系我们

新泽西Greater Media电台微调无线电广播作业

Greater Media电台在微调后能够发送无比清晰的广播内容,以灵活数字录音性能录制远程播音人员的声音,并为IT人员提供进阶设备管理工具

由于工作站和服务器硬盘在播音和广播节目制作录音室中不断发出明显的嗡嗡噪音,Keith Smeal到达Greater Media新泽西事业部后第一件想做的事就是将工作站搬出录音室。负责Greater Media全新泽西六个电台的技术营运总监Smeal表示:「我们是一家电台,音频就是我们的产品。如果录音室十分嘈杂,对我们来说不是好事。有些设备运作的声音很大,我们要把这些噪音制造者赶出录音室,但还是必须能够从录音室内存取这些服务器的内容,供我们播放及制作节目之用。」

由于工作站和服务器硬盘在播音和广播节目制作录音室中不断发出明显的嗡嗡噪音,Keith Smeal到达Greater Media新泽西事业部后第一件想做的事就是将工作站搬出录音室。负责Greater Media全新泽西六个电台的技术营运总监Smeal表示:「我们是一家电台,音频就是我们的产品。如果录音室十分嘈杂,对我们来说不是好事。有些设备运作的声音很大,我们要把这些噪音制造者赶出录音室,但还是必须能够从录音室内存取这些服务器的内容,供我们播放及制作节目之用。」

为了要提供优质音频与操作效能,Smeal找到了力登。他之前在Greater Media费城电台采用的是其他KVM 解决方案,经过了一些研究比较,他发现力登最新的模拟Paragon® KVM(键盘/显示器/ 鼠标)切换器能够满足Greater Media在新泽西事业部所有需求。

Greater Media选用的是可支持八位用户及32台装置的Paragon II 832机型。企业级 Paragon是可靠的耐负荷机种,受到数千座数据中心采用,可通过安全的带外网络无阻塞将用户连接到目标服务器与设备。如此一来,多位用户能够同时从一个用户操作站访问目标服务器,所有相连设备在显示器上都会显示于单一整合的视图中。要在Paragon切换器上增加设备也十分简单,只要用CAT5缆线接上即可。

Smeal表示:「我们在费城时是使用其他厂商的KVM产品,我想要找到能够避免这些设备缺点的新产品。之前设备可提供的路径数量十分有限,而且需要非常繁杂的规划,才能够达成避免单点故障且尽可能提高灵活性的配置。但是力登的Paragon不一样,只要一台就能提供八个无阻塞路径,同时支持32台服务器。我以前必须串接三到四台其他品牌产品才能实现相同程度的灵活性。Paragon的板型和端口密度让我们能在很小的空间中塞进很多设备,我们将整个服务器管理区域- 键盘、显示器和冗余Paragon II切换器装进比其他单一纯KVM系统所需空间更小的机架空间。因此,Paragon更具成本效益,且可提供更多更高产能工具。」

Greater Media当时正在新泽西事业部导入服务器式音频录放系统的使用,因此恰是部署Paragon的良好时机。Smeal提到:「在这次导入过程中,我们在每一录音室都装设了Paragon切换器和Paragon用户工作站,并将工作站和服务器迁入录音室外的新设机房。」

Greater Media的制作与播音人员可从录音室内的用户操作站轻松访问位于搬迁后服务器及工作站内的应用程序和内容。Paragon切换器将KVM(键盘、显示器、鼠标)讯号从服务器延伸到用户操作站,并且提供高画质视频分辨率(高达1920 x 1440 – 距离可达1,000呎),所以对用户而言,就像是坐在服务器前操作(除了没有嗡嗡的风扇噪音)。他们可访问所有系统制作并放送播音内容,包括音频编辑、谈话节目电话过滤软件、因特网工作站,以及AudioVault TM音频录放系统。

采用Paragon II后,不仅服务器可从录音室移出,也不再需要为每台服务器分别设置显示器、键盘和鼠标,因此使得空间有限的录音室环境更为整齐。Greater Media也选择了Paragon的KVM-over-IP选项,进一步提升灵活性与管理性,只要通过因特网,就能从任何地方访问选定服务器。

Greater Media所推崇的其他Paragon管理功能包括:登入与稽核轨迹、允许最多16个用户工作站同时从多台服务器接收视频输出的多重视频功能,以及可将视频信号轻松转至Paragon II系统内任一用户工作站的视频转移功能。

备份功能确保高度可用性

任何一位从事全年无休电台工作的人都会告诉你,这行的业务守则第一条就是「永不间断」。Smeal 所管理的五人工程部门负责确保新泽西事业部能够顺利运作。Smeal 表示:「广播世界的工程作业涵盖范围极广——几乎所有要插插头的东西都归工程部门管理,所有设施、录音室、所有计算机、广播设备、发送器——反正所有让我们保持永不间断的设备都是工程部门负责。」

为尽可能提供百分之百的服务,Greater Media 在其事业部的主要部分建立备件技术基础建设。Smeal表示:「如果没有备件系统备用,一旦有任何设备故障,广播就可能嘎然中断。」装设双重Paragon切换器提供备援功能并增加系统灵活性,若一台切换器故障,另一台就会顶替上阵。「在使用Paragon II的系统上,我们会同时并用两个CIM(计算机接口模块)。如果有一台切换器失效,另一台切换器能够立即接手处理一切工作。」

连接至每一台主要制作服务器的双重Paragon CIM也提供了从用户工作站至服务器的备份存取路径。此外,录音室中也设置了双重用户工作站,主显示器在一台KVM上,备份显示器在另一台KVM切换器上。

Smeal表示:「我们的规划充分考虑到备份功能。所以,如果正在进行节目的播音人员发现显示器故障,就能切换过去,将计算机画面呈现在录音室内的另一台显示器上。现在,若后来发现故障的是计算机,例如计算机本身无法使用,就可以利用Paragon接上备份计算机,让节目继续顺利播送。我们在播音过程中的每一个步骤都建置冗余功能,因为『节目必须继续进行』。在播音作业上使用Paragon让我们拥有极大的灵活性以及保持顺利运作的冗余性。」

如Smeal所说,力登新的解决方案也让系统工程师能够更轻松地进行故障检查与修复作业,因为他们现在能够从任何地方访问系统。Greater Media的工程师团队现在不用在系统间奔波,就能够更有效率地访问任一地点的所有设备——不再受到特定任务只能在特定工作站进行的限制,也不再需要辛苦奔波于各工作站之间。

通过KVM-over-IP提供优质音频,延伸播送范围

看中KVM切换器中第一次出现的双向数字音频功能,Greater Media计划将Dominion KX II的这项新技术运用在节目制作上。在此之前,高级音频唯一可用的方案是经由传统模拟切换器与延伸器,在地点与时间上都有所限制。通过KX II的远程IP联机,用户可从世界上任何地点访问高质量数字音频应用程序。

Greater Media现正利用KX II的全新数字音频功能,将内容在其Audiovault系统上提供随处访问。用户不再被绑定在特定地点,而是能够从任何地点访问制作广播节目所需的一切资源。播音人员与操作人员现在不需要开车前往录音室,就能够在节目播出前事先播放确认内容。

「在力登团队的协助下,我们成功制定出这套远程声音追踪解决方案,现在我们正在评估所有优点与益处。在KVM解决方案中纳入音频IP,更添一层意趣。」

借助KX产品的虚拟媒体功能,预录播送内容可加载位于Greater Media任一新泽西电台的Audiovault系统。使用Dominion KX,远程播音人员及其他制作团队成员能够播放刚才录制的连同其他元素的所有内容。Smeal表示:「他们可在音轨进入下一个元素时先行听取,不管是歌曲还是广告,确认是否一切配合良好且内容正确。」

「在力登团队的协助下,我们成功制定出这套远程声音追踪解决方案,现在我们正在评估所有优点与益处。在KVM解决方案中纳入音频IP,更添一层意趣。」

Greater Media也正在测试另一项利用KX II音频功能的概念性实验。「客户所购买的电台广告存放在我们的Audiovault系统中,有时我们签约要播放的音频会出现问题。现在,如果周六下午,我们的监制在家和家人一起烤肉聚餐,而广告音频发生了问题,他就可以从远程进入防护网关后方的Audiovault系统,通过KVM联机执行播放。这能够帮助他确认问题所在并为我们的广告客户提供更好的服务。」

Smeal认为使用适当的压缩算法并搭配其他技术,包括Dominion KX II的功能,就能扩展出其他可能的应用,包括进行远程广播。「我们已经通过头脑风暴在思考其他应用方式。我可以预见制作工作站运用远程访问功能编辑广告材料的可能性,这能让我们享有更大的灵活性—例如由一位监制同时负责多个市场。」

远程设备管理

除制作服务器之外,我们的办公室中也设有业务服务器支持多种应用程序的运作,包括电子邮件、认证、档案储存及Citrix。Smeal表示:「我们需要的解决方案必须有助于简化IT设备管理,并且在发生问题时能够更快速地做出响应。力登的数字KX II解决方案让我们可通过网络浏览器从任何地方访问并管理我们的设备,因此不需要在不同地点之间奔波,而且也可以更快解决问题。」

为管理这些服务器,新泽西Greater Media选用了力登的32端口Dominion KX II切换器,以供多位用户访问位于任何地点的远程服务器,并在任何服务器状态下解决问题——不论服务器是否运行,电源是否开启,或是否停电。KX通过IP网络传送加密键盘、显示器及鼠标信号,提供安全的远距离操作。

Greater Media的工程师现在能够从任何地点访问服务器,藉此检查服务器是否正常运作,或进行诊断以及其他维护,或在有需要时重启服务器。只要在网络式仪表板上轻点一下图标,用户就能从单一键盘/ 显示器/ 鼠标控制面板对服务器及其他IT装置进行安全的BIOS层级访问。

Smeal表示:「Dominion支持我们的业务服务器及我们的正常运行时间目标。若发生问题——如电子邮件应用程序失常——任何时间,不论白天或晚上,我们的IT管理人员就能马上经由因特网进入系统加以处理。他们也可能是晚上在家中进行访问。只要有问题,IT管理人员就能使用Dominion进入系统查找原因。」

Greater Media用于选择解决方案的其他标准包括:在不打断日常营运的前提下轻松设置,以及便于使用。Dominion KX II是可立即完成安装的即插即用KVM设备,所有主要功能都已完成预载——包括内部认证与网络访问。由于KX提供BIOS层级访问,即便服务器的操作系统失效或是网络适配器故障,也不会影响服务器的访问。若无法通过因特网联机,KX也提供专用调制解调器端口供紧急时拨号进行访问。

Dominion提供多重安全层级,包括内置认证、与其他品牌AAA服务器兼容,以及SNMP和Syslog事件管理。同时也设有双重电源供应器及双重千兆位以太网络端口,能供自动容错转移。

KX II的其他特殊功能还包括:可从远程将软件安装至目标服务器通用虚拟媒体TM功能,以及节省设定时间,开箱即可实现鼠标同步的绝对鼠标同步TM功能。

Smeal表示:「Paragon 和Dominion KX II解决方案为我们带来更大的灵活性,对我们的事业部有极大帮助。」

「我们相信科技的力量,与力登的合作让我们能够真正将灵活性及冗余能力导入我们的事业部,满足效能需求。我花了很多时间思考如何在所有细节上建立冗余能力,以便在主要设备故障时,马上就有辅助设备接替。如此一来,不论发生什么事情,

我们的电台都能永不间断。有了力登切换器所提供的备份能力和灵活性,我晚上能够睡得更安心。」

了解更多关于力登
客户

Greater Media以全时无休的广播节目丰富了新泽西的无限波段,该公司旗下拥有六个AM及FM电台品牌——包括新泽西中央的流行持续轻摇滚Magic 98.3及WCTC 1450 AM Voice of Central Jersey。 

Greater Media用于选择解决方案的其他标准包括:在不打断日常营运的前提下轻松设置,以及便于使用。Dominion KX II是可立即完成安装的即插即用KVM设备,所有主要功能都已完成预载——包括内部认证与网络访问。由于KX提供BIOS层级访问,即便服务器的操作系统失效或是网络适配器故障,也不会影响服务器的访问。若无法通过因特网联机,KX也提供专用调制解调器端口供紧急时拨号进行访问。

挑战
  • 为了向听众提供持续不间断且优质规划的节目内容,新泽西的Greater Media电台不仅需要优秀的节目制作人才,也需要以具有高度可靠性的尖端科技广播系统及基础建设将这些节目提供给听众。
  • 该公司想要寻找能够让电台节目制作者随时随地录制内容的新方法。
  • 同时希望能以更好的方式支持高可用性服务目标。
  • 此外,Greater Media也想要避免录音室内一些设备所发出的杂音影响广播音频质量。
解决方案

力登 Paragon®企业级模拟KVM切换器。
具有全新数字音频功能的Dominion® KX II KVM-over-IP切换器。

成果
高效
  • Dominion KX II提供所有相连设备的仪表板视图,并支持所有主要系统的远程访问,因此用户能够以更有效率的方式进行设备管理,节省往来奔波于全公司七处地点的时间及费用。
提高了正常运行时间
  • 具备备份的设备管理,对于主要制作系统的访问永不中断。
  • 通过因特网远程访问24小时无休的业务服务器。
品质保证
  • 录音室更加安静,将嘈杂的服务器和设备移出制作录音室,用户就能身处录音室内,安全访问服务器内容。
  • 支持语音追踪。远程播音人员可以检视完整节目内容的最终呈现方式,包括播音人员录制的节目内容、音乐和广告。
更高的灵活性
  • 音频制作专业人士及播音人员可从任何地点访问数字音频系统上的内容。
  • 工程师现在不论身在何处,使用办公室台式机、智能手机还是平板电脑,轻轻一点就能轻松访问设备。

« Previous Case Study
Miniatur Wunderland

Next Case Study »
EPAM

Greater Media Fine-Tunes Its Radio Broadcast Operations

New Jersey radio stations gain crystal-clear broadcasts, flexible digital recording capabilities for remote on-air talent, and advanced equipment management tools for IT personnel.

With noticeable humming noises coming from workstations and server hard drives in its on air and broadcast production studios, one of the first things Keith Smeal wanted to do when he arrived at Greater Media’s New Jersey operations was to relocate the workstations out of the studios. “We’re a radio station and audio is our product. If the studio is noisy, it’s not a good thing,” says Smeal, who is Director of Technical Operations for Greater Media’s six radio stations throughout the state. “Some of the equipment was quite loud. We needed to get the culprits out of the studio, but still be able to access content on these servers from inside the studio in order to do our on-air and production work.”

Focused on delivering quality audio and optimal performance, Smeal called on Raritan Inc. He had used other KVM solutions while he worked at Greater Media’s Philadelphia stations, and with a little research found that the latest Raritan analog Paragon® KVM (keyboard/video/mouse) switch would satisfy all of the criteria on Greater Media’s wish list for the New Jersey operations.

Greater Media selected the Paragon II 832 model that supports eight users and 32 devices. A reliable workhorse used by thousands of data centers, the enterprise-class Paragon connects users to target servers and equipment over a secure, out-of-band network for non- blocked access to servers. As a result, users—multiple simultaneous users—always have access to target servers from a User Station, which shows on the monitor all the connected equipment in a single, consolidated view. Adding a device to the Paragon switch is a simple plug in using CAT5 cable.

“In Philadelphia we were using other vendors’ KVM products, and I wanted to find something without the limitations I faced with those,” says Smeal. “They were very limiting in the number of paths you could have, and required some heavy planning in order to configure it in a way to minimize single points of failure and provide as much flexibility as possible. Raritan’s Paragon, on the other hand, gives me eight unblocked paths and support for 32 servers in one box. I would have had to daisy chain three or four of the other vendors’ products to get the same level of flexibility. Paragon’s form factor and port density enabled us to pack a lot of equipment in a very small space; we fit the entire server administration area- keyboard, monitor, and redundant Paragon II switches in fewer rack spaces than the other single KVM-only system would have populated. Consequently, the Paragon is more cost effective and contains many more productivity tools.”

Greater Media was in the process of implementing a server-based audio playback system in the NJ operations, so the timing was good to also deploy Paragon. “During this implementation, we installed the Paragon switch and Paragon user stations inside each studio, and moved the workstations and the servers into newly created rack rooms outside the studios,” says Smeal.

From their user stations inside the studio, Greater Media’s producers and air talent can easily access their applications and content residing on relocated servers and workstations. The Paragon switch extends the reach of KVM (keyboard, monitor, mouse) signals from servers to the user station; and, delivers high-definition video resolution (as high as1920 x 1440 – at distances of up to 1,000 feet), so a user has the same experience as if sitting right in front of a server (minus the humming and fan noise). They have access to all their systems to produce and distribute on-air content, including audio editors, telephone-call screening software for talk shows, internet workstations, and the AudiovaultTM audio playback system.

Paragon II’s implementation also uncluttered the space-constrained studios by not only removing servers from inside the studios, but by also eliminating the need for each server to have a separate monitor, keyboard and mouse. Greater Media also selected Paragon’s KVM-over-IP option for additional flexibility and manageability, enabling access to selected servers from just about anywhere over the Internet.

Other Paragon management features that Greater Media has found helpful include: logging and audit trails, Multiple Video feature that enables up to 16 user stations to simultaneously receive the video output from multiple servers, and Video Redirect that provides easy redirection of video signal to any user station within a Paragon II system.

Redundancy for high availability

Anyone in 24/7 radio can tell you that the number one business rule is “Stay on the air.” Keeping the New Jersey operations running smoothly is a five-person engineering department reporting to Smeal. “Engineering in the radio world encompasses a broad spectrum—pretty much anything that gets plugged into a wall falls under the realm of engineering,” say Smeal. “All the facilities, studios, all the computers, all the broadcasting equipment, transmitters—just about everything to keep us on the air falls under engineering.”

To deliver as close as possible to 100 percent service levels, Greater Media has created a redundant technology infrastructure for key parts of its operations. “Without a system of redundancy in place, broadcasting can come to a halt if a piece of equipment goes down,” says Smeal. Redundancy and increased levels of flexibility were created by installing dual Paragon switches. In the event a switch ever fails, the other will come on line. “In the places where we have Paragon II, I’m running two in parallel using dual CIMs (Computer Interface Modules). If I were to lose a switch, I can bring up everything on the other switch.”

There are also redundant access paths from the user station to the server, using dual Paragon CIMs connected to each key production server. In addition, dual user stations were installed inside the studios—the main monitor is on one KVM; the backup monitor is on the other KVM switch.

“We have it setup in such a way that there’s a lot of redundancy. So, if the on-air talent doing a show ever sees their screen fail, they can switch over and bring up their computer screen on another monitor in the studio,” says Smeal. “Now, if it turns out that that failure was in the computer, such as the computer itself went dark, then they can use the Paragon to go to the backup computer in order to keep programming on the air. Every step of the way we have built redundancy because the ‘show must go on.’ Using the Paragon for the on-air operation gives us a lot of flexibility and redundancy in order to keep things running smoothly.”

According to Smeal, the new Raritan solutions also have made troubleshooting and repair easier for systems engineers because they can now access systems from anywhere. Greater Media’s team of engineers can now more efficiently access all the equipment in each location without needing to travel from system to system—eliminating the need for specific tasks to be performed at particular workstations and running from one workstation to another.

Extending Studios’ Reach by delivering quality audio over KVM-over-IP

Taking advantage of the first bidirectional digital audio capabilities in a KVM switch, Greater Media plans to use the new technology in the Dominion KX II to help with radio content production. Up until this point, the only option available for superior audio was through traditional analog switches and extenders, which limits where and when you can work. Through the KX II’s remote IP connection, users can access high-quality, digital audio applications from anywhere in the world.

Greater Media is using the KX II’s new digital audio capability to make content on its Audiovault system accessible from any location. Users are no longer bound to a particular location. They can, instead, be located anywhere and have access to all the resources that they need to create an on-air radio show. Talent and operators can now playback a show’s content before it goes on the air without having to drive to one of the studio locations.

“Working with the Raritan team, we were able to develop this solution for remote voice tracking and we are evaluating all the advantages and benefits. To have the audio IP with the KVM solution adds an interesting layer.”
Keith Smeal
Director of Technical Operations, Greater Media

With KX’s Virtual Media feature, prerecorded on-air “content can be loaded to the Audiovault system residing at one of Greater Media’s New Jersey radio stations. Using the Dominion KX, the remote talent and other production team members are able to playback what was just recorded, along with all the other components. “They would hear their voice track as it comes into the next element, whether it is a song or a commercial, to see how it all fits and if it all just sounds right,” says Smeal.

“Working with the Raritan team, we were able to develop this solution for remote voice tracking, and we are evaluating all the advantages and benefits. To have the audio IP with the KVM solution adds an interesting layer.”

Greater Media is also testing another proof of concept leveraging KX II’s audio feature. “A run of radio commercials purchased by clients are stored in our Audiovault system. There are times where there are questions about the audio that is tied to a specific contract. Now, if it’s a Saturday afternoon and our production director is at home having a barbeque with his family, and an issue comes up, he is now able to remote in, get into the Audiovault system, which we keep behind a protected gateway, and actually play the commercial’s audio through the KVM connection. This will aid in his being able to check on issues and better serve our advertising customers.”

Smeal predicts that with the right compression algorithms and combination of technologies, including those from the Dominion KX II, there are can be many other potential applications, including doing remote broadcast. “Within my group we’re already brainstorming other applications. I could see the potential of having remote access to production workstations used to edit commercial materials, which would give us more flexibility—such as enabling a production director in one market to cover for another one.”

Remote Equipment Management

In addition to production servers, our offices have business servers supporting a variety of applications, including e-mail, authentication, file storage, and Citrix. “We were looking for a solution that would help simplify IT equipment management, and enable us to be more responsive in the event of problems,” says Smeal. “Raritan’s digital KX II solution enables us to access and manage our equipment anywhere via a web browser, eliminating the need to travel to our various sites and resolve issues quicker.”

For managing these servers, Greater Media New Jersey selected Raritan’s 32-port Dominion KX II switch that enables multiple users to access any remote server no matter where it is located, as well as resolve problems no matter what state a server is in – whether the server is operational, powered off, or experiencing a fault. The KX achieves this by sending encrypted keyboard, video and mouse signals over an IP network.

Greater Media’s engineers are now able to access servers from any location to check the health of servers, perform diagnostics and other maintenance, and, if necessary, reboot a server. With a simple click of an icon on a web-based dashboard, users have secure, BIOS-level access to servers and other IT devices from a single keyboard/video/mouse console.

“The Dominion supports our business servers and our uptime objectives. If there’s a problem—such as with the e-mail application—at any time, day or night, my IT manager can get in through the Internet and deal with it. They may be working from home in the evening and need access. So, if there’s an issue the IT manager can get in and troubleshoot using the Dominion,” says Smeal.

Other criteria that Greater Media used in its solution selection included ease of set up without interrupting daily operations and ease of use. As a plug-and-play KVM appliance that installs in minutes, Dominion KX II is completely self-contained with all key features preloaded – including internal authentication and web access. Since the KX provides BIOS-level access, servers are accessible even if a server’s operating system is not working or the network interface card has failed. If an Internet connection is unavailable, the KX provides a dedicated modem port for emergency dial-up access.

Dominion provides multiple levels of security, including built-in authentication, compatibility with third-party AAA servers, and SNMP and Syslog event management. It also has dual power and dual Gigabit Ethernet with automatic failover.

Other features that have come in handy are the KX II’s Universal Virtual MediaTM for remotely installing software to target servers, and Absolute Mouse SynchronizationTM that saves time by providing mouse synchronization right out of the box.

“By providing us even more flexibility, the Paragon and Dominion KX II solutions have proven to be very useful in our operations,” says Smeal.

“We believe in leveraging technology. Partnering with Raritan has given us a real opportunity to build flexibility and redundancy into our operations in order to deliver performance. I spend a lot of time thinking about how to create redundancy wherever we can—so that if the main fails, we’ve got an auxiliary. So no matter what,
our radio stations will be on the air. Having such redundancy and flexibility as provided by the Raritan switches help people in my position sleep much better at night.”

Learn More About Raritan
Customer

Greater Media fills the New Jersey airwaves with programming around the clock. It owns six AM and FM radio station brands—including central Jersey’s popular continuous soft rock Magic 98.3 and WCTC 1450 AM The Voice of Central Jersey.

Part of the Greater Media enterprise that encompasses radio, printing, publishing, and telecommunications properties throughout the United States, the New Jersey operations includes four geographically separated broadcast studio complexes, sales offices, and myriad broadcast and IT equipment. From its first radio station in the 1950s, the company has stressed leadership in developing and adapting new technologies and services in order to provide listeners great entertainment and useful and timely information.

Challenges
  • To provide continuous, quality programming content for listeners, Greater Media New Jersey focuses on great talent to create content and highly-reliable, state-of-the-art broadcast systems and infrastructure for delivering this content.
  • The company was looking for new ways to support its radio talent, so that they can record whenever and from wherever.
  • It was also looking for better ways to support high-availability service objectives.
  • In addition, Greater Media was concerned with superfluous noises generated by some of the equipment inside its studios and its possible impact on broadcast audio quality.
Solutions

Raritan Paragon® enterprise-class analog KVM switch.
Dominion® KX II KVM-over-IP switch with new digital audio capabilities.

Results
Efficiency
  • Dominion KX II’s dashboard view of all connected devices and ubiquitous remote access to all key systems provide a more efficient way to manage equipment; eliminating cost of time and travel to firm’s seven locations.
Uptime
  • Equipment management configured for redundancy, so access to key production systems is always available.
  • 24/7 remote access to business servers over the Internet.
Quality
  • Quieter studios. Moved noisy servers and equipment out of the production studios, while providing users inside the studios secure access to servers’ content.
  • Support for voice tracking. Ability for remote talent to review entire show with all the elements in their final order, including talent’s recorded content, music and commercials.
Flexibility
  • Audio production professionals and on-air talent now able to access content on digital audio system from anywhere.
  • Engineers now have one-click access to their devices from any location, using office desktops, smartphones and tablets.

« Previous Case Study
Miniatur Wunderland

Next Case Study »
EPAM